Skip to content

More about me

May 5, 2008 am31 8:28 am
tags:

Got tagged by Joel (who is not a math teacher)

The rules:

  1. The rules of the game get posted at the beginning.
  2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.
  3. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog.
  4. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

Got it.

1) What was I doing 10 years ago?
May 1998. Completing my first year of teaching. I had just returned from a one week trip to Turkey, where I felt the second earthquake of my life, and where I was briefly xxxxxxed due to being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

My life was a mess, dominated by lesson planning and grading. I no longer answered phone calls or went out, except to just unload on people who were willing to support new, nearly hopeless teachers.

2) What are 5 things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order):

(I’m giving tomorrow morning’s list)

  1. Fix up grade book for 2nd marking period so I can calculate grades and grade some tests
  2. Bring in Loch Ness souvenirs for kids (as prizes for winning games)
  3. Make calendars for kids (with topics and homework assignments)
  4. Fill in per session sheets
  5. Go to exec board meeting
  6. Laundry (ugh, should have done it today)

3) Snacks I enjoy:

Everything. A weakness. Except dip. Don’t like most dips.

more below fold –>

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

  1. Billionaire?
  2. Give it away?
  3. Save a little to travel

5) Three of my bad habits:

  1. Putting things off
  2. Being sloppy
  3. Not exercising

6) 5 places I have lived:

  1. New Haven
  2. Amherst
  3. Bronx
  4. Manhattan
  5. Brooklyn
  6. Queens

7) 5 jobs I have had (besides teacher, which the whole world knows about):

  1. Cartographer
  2. Receptionist
  3. Transportation Planner
  4. Guy who sticks annoying leaflets into your lockers (for LSAT prep)
  5. Departmental Assistant
  6. Xerox Machine Operator

8) 6 people I wanna know more about:

  1. Ed from Millard Filmore’s Bathtub. He runs one cool blog, and has offered some info about himself in the past. I wouldn’t mind knowing more.
  2. Joshua Fisher from Text Savvy. Used to be secretive, but got a new job and has been more open. Good opportunity to learn a little more.
  3. e. Let’s see what this (Utah?-based) college math teacher will share…
  4. Alane from Math Notes. From Mississippi. High School teacher.
  5. Whatsit. She’s been quiet lately. And she farmed out her Teachers Potluck.
  6. Andree from Meeyauw. If you’ve never seen her photographs from northern Vermont….
4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2008 am31 5:36 am 5:36 am

    Why question mark after Utah? I don’t plan on moving any time soon, although I suppose one never knows. I’m flattered I’m on the list, but I’m afraid I might end up being a disappointment :)

  2. May 6, 2008 am31 6:50 am 6:50 am

    wow
    Thank you, JD! I think! LOL

    I shall do this as soon as I can this week!

  3. May 22, 2008 am31 5:11 am 5:11 am

    TA DA! Did it!
    Why today? Because I can’t go to work tomorrow because the pump on my well broke and I don’t have water. Only electricity. Sigh.

Trackbacks

  1. The Blog Revolution On Hold | General | So You Want To Teach?

Leave a comment